Family of Banks unite under new name as TrailWest Bank

Customers of 13 locally owned and operated banks in four western Montana counties may have noticed that their bank is sporting a new name. The Family of Banks officially united under the name TrailWest Bank on Oct. 5.

Bank Semiannual Assessment Holiday - First Half 2015

The Division amended ARM 2.59.104 on June 12, 2015 giving banks an assessment holiday from the first half 2015 semiannual assessment.  This rule revision is intended to be temporary and will sunset on August 31, 2015.  If you have any questions, please contact our office at 406-841-2920 or

Glacier Bank Selects New President, Future CEO

Deputy Commissioner of Credit Unions Retiring

The Deputy Commissioner of Credit Unions with the Montana Division of Banking, Chris Olson, announced his retirement at the end of this month. Chris was instrumental in the drafting of our modernization bill, HB 550, with his knowledge and years of experience. Commissioner Melanie Hall said, "Chris has been a valued member of our team for almost 40 years and his knowledge and experience are irreplaceable. The Division will miss his trusted counsel, but we genuinely appreciate the mentoring that Chris has provided all of us to smooth the transition." We wish Chris the best in his future!

(From Tracie Kenyon's Your Weekly President's Report)

2015 Bank Merger Update

  • West One Bank of Kalispell merged into Bitterroot Valley Bank of Lolo on January 1st, 2015.
  • Community Bank in Ronan, MT was acquired by Glacier Bancorp on February 28, 2015. Read the full store here.
  • Lake County Bank of St. Ignatius merged into Valley Bank of Ronan on April 10, 2015.

There are currently 52 Montana state-chartered banks.



Add Content...